关于我们

首页 > 关于我们 > 历史

历史

自19世纪末,外滩一直被誉为上海最耀眼繁华的街道。19世纪80年代为外籍权贵的居住区, 20世纪之后迅速发展的工业化进程将外滩塑造成繁荣的商业中心,并成为各国大企业设立远东总部的首选。


座落于外滩中山东一路3号的前"有利大楼"始建于1916年,为上海市优秀历史建筑。 此建筑是上海第一幢全钢框架结构的建筑,钢制框架据称是向著名的德国克虏伯工厂定制。外墙采用了花岗岩的石料作为贴面。由于采用了钢框架结构,所以有利大楼内部的办公楼层可由使用者自行划隔,为当时第一栋开放式办公楼的先锋设计典范。


有利大楼位于广东路外滩的转角,建筑的主立面设计在广东路上,整体采用新文艺复兴风格。外装饰为巴洛克式,大门两旁及三、五层楼的门一面阳台上有修长的爱奥尼克石柱,柱身上凿有凹槽。正门和两侧的窗格上有富于变化的巴洛克旋转式图案。


大楼顶层东北角伫立着高达150英尺的塔亭,开沪上大楼安置塔亭的先例。塔亭东南西北的四角设计为双柱,其顶部采用了带有伊斯兰风格的葫芦顶。 该塔亭原是作为钟楼与保险公司观察商船进入上海的瞭望塔。如今,此处已成为备受赞誉的望江阁—上海最私密的用餐场所。


有利大楼所在的中山东一路3号,原属于英商天祥洋行。1912年,当时远东著名的水上保险公司,保安保险,签下了在天祥洋行地产上兴建新办公大楼的合约。保安保险特地前往香港寻找适应东方需求和现代发展的建筑事务所。当时,正逢公和洋行力求在上海开拓业务,于是有利大楼的设计便由公和洋行负责完成。公和洋行指派了年仅32岁的设计师乔治•威尔逊进行设计。1916年,大楼正式竣工启用。


1922年,在上海恢复业务的有利银行从位于杭州路的原办公场所搬迁入内。1937年,淞沪会战之后,由于保险公司无法承担因战争而产生的巨额担保费用,保安保险的资金账户被冻结,有利银行藉此机会收购全部产权。1941年至1945年间,由于日军强占而停业。抗战胜利后,有利银行于原址复业,直至1952年自行申请停业并将大楼移交上海市人民政府。后曾作为上海市民用建筑设计院、上海建筑设计研究院、上海市地质矿产局等使用。


1997年新加坡私人企业佳通集团在心怀重现外滩风华的愿景下, 收购该大楼并交由美国知名建筑师Michael Graves负责大楼改建工作。 2004年佳通旗下House of Three Ltd创立了"外滩三号"并于同年9月正式开业。今天外滩三号已成为了外滩的经典地标与上海现代精致生活方式的先锋典范, 凝聚艺术、美食与文化于一体。

About Us

Home > About Us > History

Since the late 19th Century, the riverfront Bund has been Shanghai's most prestigious boulevard. In the 1880s, it was a popular residential neighborhood for affluent foreign nationals. By 1900, rapid industrialization had transformed the Bund into a bustling commercial center, where prominent businesses established their headquarters.


Built in 1916, the former Union Building located on Bund No.3 Zhong Shan Don Yi Road is one of the "Outstanding Historical Buildings" recognized by Shanghai Municipal People's Government. It was the first steel-framed structure in Shanghai, of which the frame was custom made by famous German steel manufacturer Friedrich Krupp AG. The exterior wall was covered with granite stone veneer. The steel structure allowed tenants to select the layout of their offices and the building became the pioneering architectural model of open-plan office buildings of its time.


The Union Building was situated at the corner of Guangdong Road and the Bund, with its facade facing Guangdong Road. It is designed in Neo-Renaissance style with some Baroque style details on the exterior. The main gate and the balconies on the third and fifth floors were decorated with carved long Ionic columns, while the window panes at the door and two sides were trimmed with Baroque style spiral patterns.


The 150 feet domed pavilion at the north-east corner rooftop of the building was the first tower-on-the building structure in Shanghai. There were double columns at the four corners and an Islamic style calabash-shaped dome on the top. Formerly an observation deck for the insurance company to monitor boats entering Shanghai and a bell tower, it has found new glory as the Cupola, Shanghai's most exclusive private dining venue.


The land on No.3 Zhong Shan Don Yi Road where the Union Building is located used to belong to Dodwell & Co., Ltd., a British trading company. In 1912, the renowned marine insurance company in the Far East, the Union Insurance Society of Canton Ltd. signed a contract with Dodwell & Co., Ltd to build its office building on that property. The insurance company travelled far to Hong Kong in search of the perfect architecture firm which could adapt to modern development and local needs. Finally, the project was commissioned to Palmer & Turner Group when they expended business to Shanghai. 32-year old architect Georges L. Wilson was appointed as the designer and the building was completed in 1916.


Upon resuming business in Shanghai, the Mercantile Bank of India moved into this building from its previous office on Hangzhou Road in 1922. After the Songhu Battle, being unable to indemnify war damages, the Union Insurance Society of Canton Ltd. had its assets frozen, the Mercantile Bank of India then purchased the building in 1937. From 1941 to 1945 it was closed due to the Japanese invasion. The bank re-opened after the war until it filed a close-down application in 1952 and transferred the property to Shanghai Municipal People's Government. Since then the building was used by the Shanghai Civil Architecture and Design Institute, Shanghai Architectural Design Institute Co., Ltd. and Shanghai Municipal Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources.


In 1997, Giti group, a private enterprise from Singapore purchased the building with the vision of reinstating the Bund's glory and commissioned acclaimed American architect Michael Graves for the restoration project. In 2004 House of Three Ltd. under Giti Group established Three on the Bund which opened to public in September same year. Today, Three on the Bund has become an iconic Bund Landmark, and Shanghai's finest Epicurean destination blending arts, gastronomy and culture.